08-02-18 Thirty-one Centennial Farms & Ranches to be recognized by Colorado Department of Agriculture and History Colorado

Thirty-one Centennial Farms & Ranches to be recognized by Colorado Department of Agriculture and History Colorado

DENVER, Colo. (August 2, 2018)—Thirty-one Colorado families that have owned and operated their farms and ranches for 100 years or more will be honored at the 32nd annual Centennial Farms & Ranches ceremony on Friday, August 24 at 1 p.m. at the Colorado State Fair in Pueblo.

These families represent Colorado’s proud agricultural heritage, persevering through over 100 years of changes and challenges. Agriculture remains a vital part of our state’s identity, contributing $41 billion to Colorado’s economy.

The families will receive certificates signed by Governor John Hickenlooper, Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture Don Brown, and Executive Director of History Colorado Steve W. Turner. They will also receive Centennial Farm & Ranch signs to proudly display on their properties.

Since 1986, the Colorado Department of Agriculture, the Colorado State Fair, and History Colorado have partnered to honor our state’s agricultural heritage with the Centennial Farms & Ranches program.

When this year’s ceremony is complete, the State of Colorado will have recognized 581 Centennial Farms and Ranches.

This year’s Centennial Farms and Ranches:

  • Ashcraft Farm & Ranch—1906 – Matheson, Elbert County
  • Bieser Family Ranch—1904 – Mesa, Mesa County
  • Bond Metz Farms, Inc.—1917 – Monte Vista, Rio Grande County
  • Chesnut Farms, LLC—1918 – Kersey, Weld County
  • Cottonwood Farms—1913 – Weldona, Morgan County
  • Dale J. and Denice Seufer Farm—1918 – Prowers County
  • Dracon Family Farm—1915 – Julesburg, Sedgwick County
  • Frank Greenlee Farm—1916 – Cortez, Montezuma County
  • Gebauer Farms—1907 – Akron, Washington County
  • Gergen Farms, LLC—1913 – Burlington, Kit Carson County
  • Gillham’s Rim Ranch—1917 -Peetz, Logan County
  • The Gray Farm—1915 – Cheyenne County
  • Hamilton Feed and Livestock—1917 – Yoder, El Paso County
  • Harold G. Vickerman Ranch—1917 – Westcliffe, Custer County
  • James P. Brophy Homeplace, LLLP—1918 – Eckley, Yuma County
  • Koberstein Farm—1917 – Phillips County
  • Koch Farms & Ranch, Inc.—1917 – Haxtun, Phillips County
  • Koppenhafer Ranch—1918 – Cortez, Montezuma County
  • Kravig Homestead Farm—1910 – Karval, Lincoln County
  • Longacre Ranch—1918 – Fort Morgan, Morgan County
  • Lusch-Merwald Family Farm—1917 – Logan County
  • Oestman Farm and Ranch—1916 – Wray, Yuma County
  • Prussman-Hofmeister—1918 – Amherst, Phillips County
  • The R.M. Haythorn Farm—1900 – Eaton, Weld County
  • Schaal Cattle Co.—1918 – Burlington, Kit Carson County
  • Smith Ranch—1887 – Lake George, Park County
  • Sporleder Ranch—1915 – Walsenburg, Huerfano / Las Animas Counties
  • Vigil Farms—1876 – Capulin, Conejos County
  • Wailes Farm—1918 – Arapahoe County
  • The Whitney Place—1918 – Haxtun, Logan County
  • Windy Ridge Land, LLC—1918 – Lamar, Prowers

The ceremony is open to the public and takes place at the Colorado State Fair in Pueblo at 1 p.m at the Weatherport Tent on Friday, August 24.

History Colorado’s mission is to inspire generations to find wonder and meaning in our past and to engage in creating a better Colorado. We serve as the state’s memory, preserving the places, stories, and material culture of Colorado through our museums, educational programs, historic preservation grants, research library, collections, and outreach to Colorado communities. Find History Colorado on all major social media platforms. Visit HistoryColorado.org or call (303) HISTORY for more information.

Jonathan Raab
Preservation Communications Manager
303-866-2049 | jonathan.raab@state.co.us