05-17-18 USDA Designates Two Counties in Colorado as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

USDA Designates Two Counties in Colorado as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

WASHINGTON, May 17, 2018 — The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has
designated Chaffee and Fremont counties in Colorado as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought. Farmers and ranchers in the following contiguous counties in Colorado also qualify for natural disaster assistance.  Those counties are:

Custer           Lake           Pueblo
El Paso           Park           Saguache
Gunnison      Pitkin        Teller

Qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for the Farm Service Agency’s
(FSA’s) emergency (EM) loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration of May 16, 2018, to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA will consider each loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster.
Other FSA programs that can provide assistance, but do not require a disaster declaration, include: Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; the Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; and the Tree Assistance Program. Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at http://disaster.fsa.usda.gov.

FSA news releases are available on FSA’s website at http://www.fsa.usda.gov via the
“Newsroom” link.