11-23-16 CCGA lobbyist, policy committee chair provide updates to producers in Burlington

Colorado Corn LogoCCGA lobbyist, policy committee chair provide updates to producers in Burlington

Colorado Corn Growers Association (CCGA) lobbyist Becky Brooks and CCGA Public Policy Committee Chair Dave Cure made a trip out to Burlington on Thursday, to provide a group of producers with policy updates.
During the meeting — which was organized by DeKalb for its seed customers in the area — Becky covered state issues, specifically making mention to the group that, despite Sen. Jerry Sonnenberg being named the president pro-tem of the Colorado Senate, he would still serve as chair of the state’s Senate Ag Committee.
Dave updated the group on some national policy topics, with those discussions including updates of trade issues, such as the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), and some of the uncertainty surrounding that proposal with a new administration.
Who is Colorado Corn? 
Colorado Corn, based in Greeley, is made up of the Colorado Corn Administrative Committee and the Colorado Corn Growers Association.
The Colorado Corn Administrative Committee (CCAC) oversees how Colorado’s corn check-off dollars (one penny per bushel of corn produced in Colorado) are spent on research, market development, outreach, education and other various endeavors.
The Colorado Corn Growers Association (CCGA) is comprised of dues-paying members who are politically active, focusing on policy that impacts corn producers and ag in general.

See more about the work of the two organizations at www.coloradocorn.com.