07-06-16 National FFA Organization Names 2016 New Century Farmers…

FFA - New Century Farmer logoNational FFA Organization Names 2016 New Century Farmers

INDIANAPOLIS (Wednesday, July 6, 2016) – The National FFA Organization has selected 33 outstanding young people to participate in the 2016 New Century Farmer conference. This exclusive, highly competitive program develops young men and women committed to pursuing a career in production agriculture.

Participants will take part in an intensive seminar July 10-16 in Johnstown, Iowa. They will learn from each other and industry experts during a series of workshops and sessions. Topics will include the global marketplace, farm financing, demographic trends and risk management. New Century Farmers will hear from motivating and informative keynote speakers who will educate them on the risk and rewards involved with production agriculture. In addition to classroom learning, students will experience the latest developments in agricultural technology.

The New Century Farmer conference is sponsored by DuPont Pioneer; Case IH; CSX Corporation; and Farm Credit with media partner Successful Farming as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. The program is designed to provide participants with valuable skills and knowledge applicable to their own farm/ranch operations. In addition, they will build a network of colleagues that will benefit them throughout their careers.

The 2016 New Century Farmers are:

  • Cheyenne Upton of Oroville, Calif;
  • Daniel Quinn of Stratford, Conn.;
  • Shelbi McCall of Mayo, Fla.;
  • Morgan Howard of Craigmont, Idaho;
  • Riley Lewis of Ind.;
  • David Turnis of Bernard, Iowa;
  • Anthony Bittel of Owensboro, Ky.;
  • Shelby Wade of Carlisle, Ky.;
  • Alex Heldt of Watertown, Minn.;
  • Asa Nelson of Tracy, Minn.;
  • Mary Sarah Sauber of Motley, Minn.;
  • Cara Fordyce of Maryville, Mo.;
  • Morgan Cuttlers of Raymond, Neb.;
  • Ethan Holland of Olin, N.C.;
  • Kevin Osborn of Tuttle, Okla.;
  • Tyler Schnaithman of Garber, Okla.;
  • Andrew Armstrong of South Charleston, Ohio;
  • Matthew Klopfenstein of Haviland, Ohio;
  • Michaela Kramer of Wapakoneta, Ohio;
  • Jenna lee of Marysville, Ohio;
  • Abigail Motter of Mansfield, Ohio;
  • Madison Sheahan of Curtice, Ohio;
  • Austin Wippel of Orient, Ohio;
  • Brandon Myers of Lexington, S.C.;
  • Kaden Eisenbraun, of Wall, S.D.;
  • Caleb Brannon of Puryear, Tenn.;
  • Colson Dreibrodt of San Marcos, Texas;
  • Cameron Young of Lubbock, Texas;
  • Jacob Lake of Logan, Utah;
  • Rebekah Slabach of Alton, Va.;
  • Maggie Elliot of Prosser, Wash.;
  • Logan Zepp of Elma, Wash.; and
  • Matt Kortbein of Warrens, Wis.

The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 629,367 student members who belong to one of 7,757 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

About National FFA Organization
The National FFA Organization is a national youth organization of 629,367 student members as part of 7,757 local FFA chapters in all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The National FFA Organization operates under a federal charter granted by the 81st United States Congress and it is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The U.S. Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to state and local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the National FFA Organization online at FFA.org, on Facebook, Twitter and the official National FFA Organization blog.
About National FFA Foundation
The National FFA Foundation builds partnerships with industry, education, government, other foundations and individuals to secure financial resources that recognize FFA member achievements, develop student leaders and support the future of agricultural education. Governed by a 19-member board of trustees comprised of educators, business leaders, individual donors and FFA alumni, the foundation is a separately-registered nonprofit organization. About 82 percent of every dollar received by the foundation supports FFA members and agricultural education opportunities. For more, visit FFA.org/Give.