06-06-16 Board members appointed to represent corn producers on CAWA…

Colorado Corn Logo

CAWA-Colorado Ag Water Alliance header logo

Board members appointed to represent corn producers on Colorado Agricultural Water Alliance 

Colorado Corn Growers Association (CCGA) President Dave Eckhardt and Colorado Corn Administrative Committee (CCAC) board member and regulatory affairs taskforce co-chair Kenny Helling were recently appointed by their respective boards to represent corn farmers on the Colorado Agricultural Water Alliance.

The Colorado Agricultural Water Alliance (CAWA) is comprised of agricultural leaders from across the state representing major facets of production agriculture. CAWA’s goal is to empower Colorado agricultural producers to make the most informed and viable decisions regarding the state’s water.
The group focuses on education efforts and information exchange; provides education to both agriculture and non-ag audiences; is an advocate for the ag sector; and identifies common ground between the participating organizations and other interested parties.
Dave, a Weld County farmer, and Kenny, a Yuma County corn producer, are filling a void left behind by Charlie Bartlett — a former CCGA and CCAC board member who was serving as CAWA’s president up until his passing in February.
Who is Colorado Corn? 
Colorado Corn, based in Greeley, is made up of the Colorado Corn Administrative Committee and the Colorado Corn Growers Association.
The Colorado Corn Administrative Committee (CCAC) oversees how Colorado’s corn check-off dollars (one penny per bushel of corn produced in Colorado) are spent on research, market development, outreach, education and other various endeavors.
The Colorado Corn Growers Association (CCGA) is comprised of dues-paying members who are politically active, focusing on policy that impacts corn producers and ag in general.

See more about the work of the two organizations at http://www.coloradocorn.com.